Multitasking

This is something I don’t do especially well, especially lately for some reason. Part of the reason has to do with the workload; there is a lot happening with my full-time employer, in terms of events and operational stuff. In addition, I have a couple of side gigs that I am pretty busy with also.

The other reason is that I deal Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, better known as ADHD. That affects how I function. Medication helps, but not always.

I shouldn’t be this busy; I’m an old guy. But it’s keeping my reasonably young, so I shouldn’t complain.

Yesterday I sat in remotely on a meeting of the operations staff where I work. I’m fortunate that I don’t have to participate directly unless there is a need for me to contribute. Most of what is discussed are upcoming events over a two week period. Nothing that is earth-shattering, but it is good to know what is happening in our areas of responsibility.

As I said, I have multiple employers. My main employer, where I work full-time, is a state agency that is responsible for the EMS and trauma systems in the state where I live. My two part-time jobs are with an organization that provides EMS education services, and the other is privately owned ambulance company that has municipal contracts in the Merrimack Valley area of Massachusetts and southern New Hampshire. Juggling those can be hard sometimes, but I like all of the places where I work, and I’m able to make a reasonably decent living.

In any case, it’s time for me to go back to stumbling through multiple work items. It has taken me two days to write this post, but at least I got through it in the midst of working on other things.

Maybe I can multitask after all. I’ll have to try this again on another day.

Multitasking

Leave a comment